Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 26

Thread: Engine loss of power (vanagon syndrome)

  1. #1
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default Engine loss of power (vanagon syndrome)

    Drive down the freeway fine come to a hill and lose power, drop a gear no difference, black smoke out the back. Power either returns or pull over power off and restart and off again until the next hill. Is this vanagon syndrome. I dont have a o2 sensor working, so I expect that isnt helping. But been running ok for a year. also doesnt idle very well. Amnything simple I need to look at :-)

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Sep 2007
    Location
    Perth WA
    Posts
    1,331

    Default

    sounds like this - http://www.benplace.com/vanagon_inte...t_syndrome.htm looks like an easy fix if you can solder.
    Garth
    Sometimes I wonder...''Why is that frisbee getting bigger?''... And then it hits me.
    '72 V6 Lowlight see the rebuild here - http://www.osp.metrohosting.info/kombiv6.html
    '91 T3 - 2.1lt auto, I don't care I still call it a Kombi

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default

    thanks I saw that one was a bit sceptical about that one really. thought a knackered air flow metre or mechincal part

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sydney / Bowral
    Posts
    5,614

    Default

    If it is Vanagon syndrome, you can switch off the engine for 10 minutes and when you restart, it will run fine.

    O2 sensor is not really needed.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default

    switched off and straight back on and ran fine. Be running ok for a year without the 02 sensor makes me think something else is at fault too

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sydney / Bowral
    Posts
    5,614

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne south east
    Posts
    367

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne south east
    Posts
    367

    Default

    ??? What its not ???

    O2 and coolant temp sensors / air flow box.

    http://volkswagenforum.com/forum/oth...ck-smoke-2971/

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne south east
    Posts
    367

  10. #10
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default

    "replace O2 and coolant temp sensor as well as the air flow box. problem persists"

    otherwise vanagon syndrome - looks like I have a bit of work to do

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Mar 2009
    Location
    Melbourne south east
    Posts
    367

    Default

    Vanders might take a look and tell us if he ever got to the bottom if it ....

    I'm thinking .....
    1) fuel quailty
    2) / water in fuel / clogged fuel filters (could be positional? like uphill .. more likely downhill though)
    3) wide open enrichment switch working correctly
    4) any shorts in O2 sensor leads (can they ground uphill)
    5 clean all EFI system connectors with contact cleaner
    6) unbolt efi box .. with it running shake EFI computer ..(does it have a positional / intermittent problem)?
    7) clean all grounds
    8) swap an AFM with someone else as a trial

  12. #12
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Location
    Southern ACT
    Posts
    7,416

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by wbx4me View Post
    Vanders might take a look and tell us if he ever got to the bottom if it ....

    I'm thinking .....
    1) fuel quailty
    2) / water in fuel / clogged fuel filters (could be positional? like uphill .. more likely downhill though)
    3) wide open enrichment switch working correctly
    4) any shorts in O2 sensor leads (can they ground uphill)
    5 clean all EFI system connectors with contact cleaner
    6) unbolt efi box .. with it running shake EFI computer ..(does it have a positional / intermittent problem)?
    7) clean all grounds
    8) swap an AFM with someone else as a trial
    Vanders sold that bus soon after..... to me.

    It needed a new fuel pump & filter, along with some electrical corrections, from some poor PAID workmanship prior.

    eg, 02 sensor wire was simply stuffed into the base of a spade connector, and jammed on the contact...

    Anyway, it didn't suffer the vanagon syndrome whilst here, and I think I sorted most of it's idiosyncrasies, before selling on, and is now owned by KC member Brian K.
    Kanga Banga - Blue 88 Manual Caravelle CL (T3)

    Crusty - White 91 Manual Single Cab (T3)

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jul 2006
    Location
    Mount Gambier, SA
    Posts
    6,621

    Default

    Max now has the jumping and jerking issues and trying to stop etc and then has the fast idles going on as well. Have to start checking all vacuum hoses etc.
    Brian and Cathy




    Cookie, 1974 Bay window Daily Driver
    2008 VW Golf Turbo Diesel,
    WARNING: Sarcasm may be used, please don't be offended

  14. #14
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default

    Thanks for all the replies looks like I am not alone then. Not done it for the last few days again now. So I am thinking definately AFM and connections. Dont think its fuel as it runs rich without the o2 sensor and when it did lose power you could smell a strong smell of fuel and lots of black smoke which I think is more loss of spark than fuel

  15. #15
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sydney / Bowral
    Posts
    5,614

  16. #16
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Location
    fraser coast queensland
    Posts
    49

    Default o2

    hey man, you need to replace that oxy sensor before you go any further, the vanagon ecu's were one of the first to run adaptive learn fuel maps, no or dodgey oxy signal gives low voltage which ecu sees as lean condition, and increases injection pulse to rectify.
    p.s. have had 2 do this, first one I spent 2 weeks on the ''#***^^THING

  17. #17
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sydney / Bowral
    Posts
    5,614

    Default

    No, you can just disconnect it.

  18. #18
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Sydney
    Posts
    498

    Default

    you can disconect it but then it will run rich, mine only gets about 200 ks to a tank as I removed mine. ;-)

  19. #19
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Sydney / Bowral
    Posts
    5,614

    Default

    Only slightly rich. It is only a fine adjustment. If driven a few with them disconnected and it does increase the fuel consumption, but the performance is the same.

  20. #20
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    nambour
    Posts
    460

    Default

    Gday all just read this the mates syncro was doing the same thing went local dealer to have fault found they didnt even look at it went to spare parts came back handed him the wire unit plugged it in a no further problems also they supplied it for free as part of recall process mind you that was a while ago
    Ernie

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •