1972 Dormobile Interior Resto / Build

Discussion in 'Resto Corner' started by Harribo, Oct 28, 2013.

1. Harribo

Harribo Member

Hi All,

Picked up my 1972 Dormobile a month or so ago with the view to using it for weekends away with my wife and daughter.

Its currently a 2 seater but the plan is to install a kustom kombi rock n roll bed (delivered a couple of weeks ago) and get it re-registered as a 4 seater. i've had some new cabinets delivered from Kombi cabinets on the gold coast which are amazing so i just need to build it all now!!

There's no interior at present in the rear and the front seats are in desperate need of recovering. I also need new door cards throughout, flooring etc... headliner is in good condition though as is the pop top and paint work in general.

Please feel free to offer advice and pointers as i'm pretty new to all this!!

So plan is;

New kick boards
    New cab carpet
    Paint dash
    New door cards (DiY upholstery for now until funds are replenished!)
    Recover front seats
    New flooring in rear (after the floorpan has been painted)
    New curtains (have the OG ones so will be good to use for templates)
    New rock n roll bed (2/3 width but will be a full size bed with the cabinets I have)
    New cabinets
    New dual battery setup
    New Radio / i pod connection
    Hidden flat screen under buddy seat

So lets get started......

Here she is in all her pop top glory (named Jennifer as my wife googled the most popular girls name in the UK in 1972)

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

And the rear floor pan, looks solid, the odd spot of surface rust but nothing that a bit of penetrol won't sort out!!

[​IMG]

Front passenger seat held in by two tek screws

[​IMG]

2. Harribo

Harribo Member

rest of interior, complete with butchered dash

[​IMG]

So, I removed the cab mat and front passenger seat, tek screws weren't even tight!! And this is what I found....

[​IMG]

Covered in black paint but really solid

Under the seat

[​IMG]