1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

77 Deluxe Slow Rebirth

Discussion in 'Resto Corner' started by Deluxe, Mar 18, 2010.

1. Deluxe

Deluxe Active Member

So, the van's arrived and now the work begins.

Don't expect any quick results with this one - I'm a complete resto novice and plan to do as much as I can myself under the watchful eye of a master.

The end goal of this resto is to get the van as close to the original state it was in when it left the factory - I reckon it's going to take a year of hard sweat, blood and probably tears, BUT hopefully plenty of enjoyment and fun on the way.

Any good resto thread starts with some 'before' pictures so here goes a few:

The good side:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

The bad side :eek:

[​IMG]

Last edited: Mar 18, 2010
  2. Deluxe

Deluxe Active Member

Nice patina ?!? Actually none of its too bad - the gutters look like they are right through in the pics but they're not

[​IMG]

Inside
    [​IMG]

Aircon (not factory so not sure it will go back in)

[​IMG]

3. Deluxe

Deluxe Active Member

Didn't want to waste too much elbow grease as the paints all coming off but wanted to dream what it's gonna look like one day

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Worst rust around the front window

[​IMG]

4. Deluxe

Deluxe Active Member

Spending the next few weekends stripping it to a shell and taking lots of pictures/labelling bits up so that it's easier to put back together...

The plan then is to send it for blasting all over on a rotisserie. I know opinions are mixed on blasting but I've found a mob that only do vehicles (no industrial) and assure me that they have done plenty of Kombi's before. Don't try and convince me otherwise because my mind is made up :)

Then it's welding, panel work, prep, paint, finding NOS bits where needed to put back on - lots of these I've found already.
    Sounds easy doesn't it!!!

5. Aspro

Aspro Well-Known Member

It's finally happening Shurms.