1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Electric fuel pump connection

Discussion in 'Fuel System & Electrics' started by Alpal, Aug 9, 2012.

1. Alpal

Alpal Moderator Staff Member

Probably a bit slow asking this question since I have been running elec pump for a few years.
    Bit concerned with the current direct hook up to ignition that if something goes amiss I will have fuel pumping out until the battery goes flat or a fireball turns it off.
    Vague memory of some posts advising fuel shut off and a relay that 'reads' the dizzy?

I'm pretty slow on lectrics so keep it simple please.

2. 1500king

1500king Well-Known Member

You can buy a "tachometric" relay from an Auto LPG supplier along with a fuel cutoff solenoid. (relay approx $20, solenoid approx $60.)

You can bolt the solenoid to the fuel pump using a double male 1/8NPT pipe fitting(using Loctite gas pipe sealer on threads to avoid leaks) and a 3/16 barbed fitting(with male 1/8NPT end to bolt into pump and solenoid at each end)... Once you have that set up, wire the relay with a fused ignition wire (10A is good) to "+" input, then output to both solenoid and pump. Bolt the relay to a ground point(the mounting tab is the ground), then the tach signal to "-" on the coil(follow wiring instructions supplied with relay)...

When done, as soon as you turn the ignition on, the relay will "prime" for 3 seconds(turning on both the pump and shut off solenoid), then stop. As soon as you start cranking, then the relay will turn back on when it has a signal from the coil and off you go. When the engine stops running, the relay shuts the pump down and shuts off the cutoff solenoid.

Nice and simple, mount the pump unit on the rear seat firewall above the trans nose cone and plumb the tank to the cutoff solenoid end, fuel pump end to carbs... Keeping all the working bits close to the tank for effective shut-off and out of the engine bay.