electronic svda distributor

Discussion in 'Fuel System & Electrics' started by francispj, Dec 13, 2016.

1. francispj

francispj Member

Just a heads up on an electronic svda dizzy .
    I fitted one I bought and it worked for about 7 months but completely broke down about 2 weeks ago.
    Cartek jumped through hoops (carbies, vacuum lines settings )on fuel before nailing the fault.
    Looking at the Samba forums they have constant trouble with these; even the petronics units so I'm back on points

peter drogi likes this.
  2. oldman

oldman Super Moderator Staff Member

If people spend $$ to get a quality unit and these EI modules are set up properly, they are usually bullet proof. Not saying that they don't fail, always exceptions to the rule, however with no moving parts, it's usually owner error or cheap parts when setting up that causes issues.(not referring to the dizzy here, just the EI unit...)
    I've been running a Petronix unit in a stock dizzy for well over 5 years now, without issue. Timing hasn't altered one bit since install.
    Cheers,
    Mark

StevieVW likes this.
  3. cbus

cbus Well-Known Member

Have seen new complete dissy petronix units that throw a realy crap curve and spark all over the place.
    Usualy an issue with the poor quality mechanisms / distributor that its based on.

4. KahunaKombi

KahunaKombi Super Moderator Staff Member

I had the dizzy go in Igor ('73 Bay) and so opted to go for new Bosch Dizzie and elelctronic ignition - all done via VW mechanic as was in for annual service ..... never an issue.
    The current Type3 also has electronic ignition and it's been in it for a number of years and no issues with it also.