1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Fuel Guage issues

Discussion in 'Fuel System & Electrics' started by VZR69, Sep 27, 2015.

1. VZR69

VZR69 Active Member

Hi all, I'm trying to get the fuel guage working on my daughters 69 bay. I have fitted a new sender and also fitted new vibrator to back of guage and it still isn't working. I'm thinking I have it wired wrong. Is there a power wire somewhere in the system? I'm still learning this electrical caper and currently I have the sender wire running to the right side of the vibrator and a wire running from left side of vibrator to left side of guage then an earth wire from right side of guage to ground on back of guage cluster.
    Any help appreciated
    Greg

2. cbus

cbus Well-Known Member

have to dig up the circuit to comment on your points but also check the screw that secures the earth wire to the body near sender.
    replaced sender and chased problem for a while and it turned out to be a bad earth at that point

3. Mordred

Mordred Super Moderator Staff Member

Not sure if it is the same on the 69, but the later ones are most definitely powered from the dash, if I recall in to the vibrator (or regulator) and then through the meter, then on to the sender. Cant find the wiring diagram atm. The vibrator reduces the voltage from 12v down to 4.8v (Alpal will either be saying well done or no no no!!!). (The reason is the voltage across the resistor in the sender needs to have a constant value to give a consistent reading at the same fuel level, no matter the voltage in the rest of the electrical system, which changes with load on the alternator/battery.)