1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

heat and noise insulation for a van

Discussion in 'Resto Corner' started by Paul Maguire, Sep 6, 2019.

1. Paul Maguire

Paul Maguire New Member

Hi I'm new to all this ... in every way.
    I'm seeking practical advice about thermal and acoustic insulation for a van that we're intending to have converted into a camper.
    An old machine didn't suit my wife Julie (realistically it was well outside my abilities to do myself or pay for) so we've just bought a new empty VW transporter.
    I want to install insulation before we hand it over to the converter but have received confusing and conflicting information.
    We live in the Hunter Valley and intend to spend a fair bit of time in Canberra (where it gets really cold and really hot) as we have children and grandchildren there.
    Any thoughts on what's been suggested to us would be appreciated.

Autobarn suggests.
    Van floor to get a Dynamat xtreme coat, plus 16mm ply and vinyl flooring.
    Bottom half of walls to get Dynamat xtreme coat, dynaliner (foam) and carpet-covered ply.
    Top half of walls to get dynaliner then carpet covered ply.
    Fibreglass pop-top to get dynaliner and ply.

Some people have suggested Thermoshield, a reflective paint on the top of the pop-top (and inside the walls) as it's said to reduce heat by about 40 to 45%. Others say this would not work.
    A spray expanding foam (for heat) has been suggested but others say it clogs everything up and makes it impossible to run wires where necessary.
    We've ruled out fibreglass batts because of their unhealthy dust and breakdown potential.
    "Rockwool" has been suggested but I've never heard of it.

We live at Elderslie, near Branxton, and could meet anywhere in the region with anyone who may be able to offer advice.
    Thank you, Paul Maguire.

2. Luckyphil

Luckyphil Well-Known Member