How to fit an electronic ignition

Discussion in ''How To' & 'Handy Hints'' started by felixqld66, Jul 30, 2007.

1. felixqld66

felixqld66 Member

Fitting a Compufire DIS-X Electronic Ignition to a type 4 motor

I wanted to change over to an electronic ignition system after having problems starting in cold damp conditions. The bus has Bosch 009 distributors so no vacuum advance. After researching the options I purchased the premium option from Compufire the DIS-X Kit.

Without repeating the entire instructions I will just summarise the fitting procedure as it went for me. It is important to note that I have never worked on a vw motor before, I did play around with old holdens in my teens 20 years ago. I consider myself handy but not really mechanical.

The Kit included

1 x mounting bracket

1 x replacement electronic distributor top cap
    (blue alloy with electronics sealed into it)

1 x 4 post coil pack with electronic tacho output included

1 x uni-directional replacement rotor cap

4 x new ignition leads

1 x matching wire connector for the power in feed

4 x allen headed bolts to connect the coil pack to its mounting bracket

1 x set of excellent instructions

The kit did not include bolts for connecting the mounting bracket in the engine compartment or the small clips for tying ignition cables together for a clean look ( these were taken from the exsisting set up.)

[​IMG]

Here’s how it happened ( the kit was fiited in a campground with no special workshop)

1. Get a solid dose of encouragement from a few Kombi owners keen to do the same to their own and want to assist a guinea pig.
    2. Stand around umm and ahh for a good while.
    3. Realize that you forgot your tools.
    4. Start anyway so you can work out what you are going need too find as far as tools go. ( I later assembled them for the photo)They included

• Stubby Philips & Flat Screwdrivers
    • 22mm open ended spanner (for turning the motor over to fire on #1)
    • 3mm Allen Key