1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Make for benefit and glory of Poptop T3

Discussion in 'Resto Corner' started by SunnyJim, Apr 22, 2019.

  1. Syncro27

    Syncro27 Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    6,144
    Location:
    Terrigal, NSW Central Coast
    Yes the green wire is the tacho wire from the coil. Its not from the computer so it should work with most aftermarket tachos. Have a look at the harness that connects to the cluster - the green wire should be there.
     
  2. Grantus

    Grantus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    15,866
    Location:
    Southern ACT
    Just to confirm what the others have rightfully said.

    I have done both my T3’s with Tacho Dash pods I bought from the US a while back. They are both “plug & play”, so the harness to the 14pin connector at the back of the dash, does have all the wiring for the different optioned dash pods. ;)
     
  3. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    Guys
    Thanks for the information. Not an immediate job but one i will do sometime in the future
     
  4. cbus

    cbus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,847
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    johnvw and Syncro27 like this.
  5. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    cbus likes this.
  6. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    As Bubba Blue from Forrest Gump said he is "gonna do some shrimpin", after some new 2nd hand goodies i am "gonna do some T3 passenger seat swivelin"
    20190508_105919.jpg
     
  7. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    I also picked up a complete rear window wiper for the TrakkaT3.
    I am not sure if doing this is a good idea or not but it is a jobby for the future. 20190508_110116.jpg .
     
  8. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    Hey Grantus
    Where did you buy the tacho from?
     
  9. Grantus

    Grantus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    15,866
    Location:
    Southern ACT
    There was an Ebay seller in the US about 8-10 years ago, that must have had access to a wrecking yard....... but he is long gone.
     
  10. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    Gone to the great wrecking yard in the sky, where splitties bays and t3s all abound
     
  11. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    I have just started poking aground the engine bay of this T3 Trakka to try to see what state the engine is really in
    - engine very shakey , have a look at the video. I am wondering if an engine mount may be loose?

    - there is a small bracket at the rear of the engine hanging down , not sure what that is.
    - spark plugs are all pretty black and oily
    - rich fuel smell, seems o2 sensor has been disconnected. Reconnected still the same
    - exhaust leak before the cat .
    I assume could contribute to that fuel smell
     
  12. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    I could not seem to attach a mp4 video even though I got the file size below 1 mB, any tricks?
     
  13. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    An arvo poking around the engine bay.
    I discovered the main reason for the engine rockin Rollin is stuffed engine mounts. Ordered now

    Took the cat out to fix the exhaust leak but was astounded. I have only looked inside 2 cat converters and they where subie ones but shouldn't that be a metal mesh inside this?
    It is hollow, look straight through.
    A good enough reason why it is running very rich?

    20190513_154948.jpg 20190513_155016.jpg
     
  14. Grantus

    Grantus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    15,866
    Location:
    Southern ACT
    Very “high flow” cat you have there.. ;)

    Shouldn’t affect the fuel running rich problem though.
     
    Syncro27 likes this.
  15. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    Grantus
    Yes I guess you are right, the o2 sensor should help with the mixture . As this kombi is new to me i found it was disconnected. I will check it to see if it was intentionally disconnected.
    What do you think happened inside the cat? Do they disintegrate? I was expecting to see some mesh structure inside instead of as hollow.
     
    Last edited: May 13, 2019
  16. Barry

    Barry Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    3,748
    Location:
    Abbotsford NSW
    Yes they collapse and the simplest fix is to knock the guts out.

    Even on working ones banging a straight though pipe is a simple performance upgrade
     
    Syncro27 likes this.
  17. cbus

    cbus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,847
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    At least the ' ex cat's won't cause problems.
    Had one where it clogged up.

    I have some exhaust and other bits off a 2.1 if you need them.
     
    Syncro27 likes this.
  18. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    Col
    If you have a really good cat.

    That is if the family is sick of it;)
     
  19. cbus

    cbus Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    11,847
    Location:
    sunshine coast
    I'll check it in the morning.
    Open is good tho ;)
     
  20. SunnyJim

    SunnyJim Well-Known Member

    Messages:
    1,605
    Location:
    carindale Brisbane
    I prefer non smelly
     

Share This Page