Perished seal in oil strainer and oil in heater boxes

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission' started by Tash, Jun 24, 2018.

1. Tash

Tash Member

Hey good people - my poor old bus seems to be having some issues. I have oil apparently leaking out of the heater boxes ( and it's not coming from the rocker cover gaskets) - a significant amount of oil.
    I'm heading overseas until Christmas in a week - but would really appreciate an idea of what I might be facing before leaving.

Two months ago my mechanical fuel pump died and filled the engine with fuel ( mixed with the oil). This was drained, fuel pump changed, new oil and oil filter. After driving it for about 50km ( over 2 weeks not all at once) I've just changed the oil and filter again. There appears to be the remains of a rubber seal and a few hard grainy bits of crud inside the oil strainer.

1975, 1800 type 4.
    hopefully the attached photos help with describing this - I'm new to my bus and still learning many things.
    Any ideas - please?

Okay, right now I can't downsize the pictures enough even using a screenshot. I'll have access to a real computer tomorrow and shall try then.

2. cbus

cbus Well-Known Member

You can't have oil leaking out of heater boxes as they don't contain oil.
    If its definitely not rocker cover seals then drop the lower tinware that covers the pushrod tubes and inspect for leaks.
    Also could be oil filter. Or if above oil filter, oil cooler.

Where does oil appear on the hearer boxes?

If the hard gasket bits in the oil strainer are curved, but square edged like broken rings, that they would form a circle about 1cm then likely the engine had valve seals fitted and these have broken.
    If so don't worry.
    They are not normally fitted.
    Occurrence should diminish.
    Shouldn't cause any issues.

Mordred likes this.
  3. Tash

Tash Member

Thanks cbus. The pushrod tubes seem fine as well.