Rover Engine in 1979 Bay

Discussion in 'Engine & Transmission' started by PurpleSal, Feb 15, 2017.

1. PurpleSal

PurpleSal New Member

Hi all. I'm looking at buying a 1979 Type 2 which has had the engine converted to a 3.5lt V8 Rover engine. Could someone please give me advice as to whether they think this would be a good idea, considering the Rover engine would have been designed for the front of a car, not rear? Also, I plan to use the Kombi to travel around Australia a fair bit. Do you think I'll have much difficulty getting Rover spare parts, compared to VW parts. Any advice would be much appreciated as I'm a newbie to this and keen to learn!

2. Mellow Yellow 74

Mellow Yellow 74 Active Member

Depends if you want to own a monstrosity or not

3. merrymike

merrymike New Member

A properly tuned, well maintained Kombi with a standard aircooled engine will be absolutely fine.

My 1979 van was previously owned by a guy for about 25 years from new - he took it all over the country - I had bags of red dust from vacuuming out the fuel tank bay and inside panels to prove it! (It gets everywhere!)

Even if things go wrong with the aircooled engine chances are you'll be able to hobble home. I drove from Tamworth to Melbourne after the engine decided enough was enough and wouldn't hold oil anymore. I was losing a litre every 100 km. If the cooling system on the rover engine breaks, you'll be waiting for a tow truck. I just bought some cheap oil and kept topping her up. By way of another example, a few Lebanese workmates of mine have said there are loads of Kombi's kicking around Lebanon and they all get treated terribly - they aren't the picture of fun we paint them as over here.

If I was going to go for a converted van I'd choose a Subaru conversion - a lot have been done and auto mechanics/engineers have worked out how to get the cooling system into the van without hanging a radiator off the front of the van and spoiling the Kombi's pretty face.