Step by step engine removal

Discussion in 'Bay Tech Clinic' started by kombi, May 7, 2007.

1. kombi

kombi Member

Gday all just woundering if there is a post on here that has a step by step for removing an engine for a bay. Iv herd its quite an easy engine to drop out but as iv only ever removed engines from bonnets and up out of the car, just woundering if there was some guidence. cheers chris:)

2. Van Housing

Van Housing Well-Known Member

3. kombimatt

kombimatt Active Member

Great post thanks Woz.

Half inspired to give it a go with Mervyn.

Matt

4. Split 1

Split 1 New Member

It is easy, I gave Zuespig instructions over the phone and he whipped his out ( engine that is)
    I can see Big Dave laughing at this.

Dave

5. ModelJets

ModelJets Active Member

Extraction

Hi kombi
    I have just done this job and found it tough. mainly because I'm not a mechanics a@#hole. Mine is an 1800 flat motor and this is what I did. Raise the rear of you kombi on car stands till your back wheels just leave the ground. This is enough for clearence when you extract the motor. Remove the battery terminal wires. Remove the rear tinware, take off the air cleaner and tubes to carbies. Remove the accelerator cable, heater cables and the heater tubes and the fuel tube from the fuel pump while you are upside down under there. Also disconect the red wire from the starter motor, it goes from the alternater. I removed the rear bumper and tow bar. Dissconect the wiring that runs from the alternator to the regulator and also to the coil then the reversing wire that has a fuse on it. I tagged the wires with masking tape folding back on itself and wrote where the wires came from (mainly because some dick had butchered the wires up) I will get around to replacing them one day. Remove the 2 upper engine mount bolts on the bell housing (bit hard to get to but persist, you will get them). I have the use of a big floor trolley jack so i placed it under the oil strainer cover plate which i