1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

T3 Coolant Loss

Discussion in 'T3 & T4 Tech Help Clinic' started by UK Skippy, Oct 2, 2019.

1. UK Skippy

UK Skippy Member

Hi All,
    I’m new to the family (exactly 1 week) I have a cracking T3 which has been well look after, today I noticed whilst parked up I was losing coolant, I have little mechanical knowledge but learning, I cleaned up what I could until dry, monitored and let cool and then drove the next 25 minutes home, I don’t believe I lost much more but there is evidence it has leaked a little, trying to track the source of the problem on the reservoir, it is a fairly new reservoir and has not happened in the past week and I have driven a fair bit including hour trip up and back to the coast. Would it be the cap was not on properly (do they loosen) or possibly the reservoir has expanded the seal a little, as it’s right next to the motor the reservoir was very hot to touch could this be a possibility? C14D543A-D12E-4F49-B860-2F61AE9C64F8.jpeg

2. Barry

Barry Well-Known Member

Could be a couple of things

The cap on the top has a hose going off to the overflow tank
    That could be split and leaking from there.
    The pressure tank you have pushes and pulls from the 2nd tank.
    The hose should be securely sealed.

The O-ring where the wires go is another culprit.
    I had fluid coming out there

Have a look at my post and you can see the offending Oring
    https://forums.kombiclub.com/threads/coolant-level-switch-o-ring.57958/

robbie0810 and UK Skippy like this.
  3. Luckyphil

Luckyphil Well-Known Member