1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Temp gauge led coming on with blinkers

Discussion in 'T3 & T4 Tech Help Clinic' started by Kew, Mar 14, 2019.

1. Kew

Kew New Member

Hi All,

I'm new to the Kombi Club and my 1985 T3, and just did a little intro in the new members section.

After driving around for a few days in Brisbane with no issues, I started to head home, south to Coffs Harbour.

On the freeway after a couple of hours at 90km/h the temp gauge LED came on, and the needle rapidly rose all the way over.

I immediately pulled over and inspected the coolant system: no leaks, expansion tank was full and overflow was midway. I measured the temp of the temp sensor at the thermostat housing and it read 80 deg C. The engine block read 70 deg C. Oil was fine.

Suspecting the thermostat was faulty, I had the guys at Stokers VW Byron change the thermostat and waterpump. They pressure tested and inspected the coolant system and everything looked good.

Carrying on down the highway for another hour, the same problem occurred - temp gauge went from sitting at 12 oclock to LED flashing and needle rapidly rising to max.

Engine inspected again and temperatures taken with multimeter and everything look fine. This is when I started suspecting in may be electrical.

I took off again later that day and then found that if I put the indicator on, the LED would start flashing and when the indicator was off, the LED would turn off. This happened several times before the LED stayed on for good again.

I did the simple test someone recommended to test the temp gauge, by unplugging and grounding the temp gauge sender and the gauge at the dash seemed fine.

I unplugged and the temp gauge sender and drove, and got the same result - LED flashing and needle from 0 - 100 very rapidly.

Any advice on where to start looking for this one?

Cheers,

Kew

2. Barry

Barry Well-Known Member