Tobias The Remembered

Discussion in 'Members Rides' started by Resnort, Sep 19, 2016.

1. Resnort

Resnort Active Member

Hi everyone!

I'm Bodo and I've been hanging around for a at least 6 months now, putting in my 2 cents here and there.
    I finally found the time (while waiting for a foxtel support call.....:mad:) to start a thread on my old family Vanagon.
    He's a 1982, 2litre, aircooled, injected, 4 speed T3/T25/Vanagon that my parents Brought over new from Germany already RHD converted. He spent his life, many Km's, 3 engine rebuilds and some questionable maintenance as the pool van :) later painted yellow and covered in the work livery by Nils as a mild revamp. The gearbox gave up the ghost a few years later and I offered to pay for it as Dad intended on retiring him, and in return I got the car :)

After many years of loyal service and much camping. My Wife and I have affectionately named him "Tank" due to size, simplicity, and ability to just keep on ticking......
    But that all ended a few years ago when he just died one day ( assumed ECU or sensor issue) while my brother (not Nils) was driving it. At the time it seemed logical to put him aside for now as I had 3 cars, rego and insurance was starting to get expensive.
    A few years passed as I intended to cover him from the elements but never got around to it and then my Brother Nils posted this thread http://forums.kombiclub.com/threads/the-forgotten.52409/
    Little did he know I would be starting so soon, and I had no idea he had posted this till some way into the rebuild.

enough blabber from me, here he is...still not on the road 113_1319 (Large).JPG pool_vehicles.jpg 108_0847 (Large).JPG 070916_222740 (Large).jpg IMG_4366 (Large).JPG stacked van.jpg FB_IMG_1436223975849 (Large).jpg

Syncro27 and melissa like this.
  2. Syncro27

Syncro27 Well-Known Member

Nice work Bodo.