1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Battery help

Discussion in ''How To' & 'Handy Hints'' started by Josht3, Jul 9, 2019.

1. Josht3

Josht3 New Member

9D0B9B3A-554A-4DE7-823B-38BBC7A5E713.jpeg 4B035D18-39E5-4EBA-9546-AA8927E8247D.jpeg Hey guys! So I’m new to this camping and battery thing but I was wondering if someone savvy could help me out.

I have a mate of a mate who’s selling second hand deep cycle batteries, he has two types and I’m not sure which one I should be choosing, he recommended the 75ah over the 100ah one as the 75ah amg would be more suitable for camping and the 100ah more suitable for 4WD’s and should be charged through a dc charger and not through an alternator or something like that, although he’s not too battery savvy either, that’s just what he’s been told. I have taken them both to battery world to have them checked and they are in great condition, but he wasn’t too keen to give me advice as I wasn’t buying one. I have to drop one or the other back tonight and I’m not too sure which one!

I’ve attached photos, please help!

Thanks

2. Mr Beckstar

Mr Beckstar Well-Known Member

@Josht3, do you still need information about this or is it sorted?

3. AC-T3

AC-T3 Well-Known Member

Sort of sad. If only the facts could be resurrected, you know, like the atmospheric % dilution ratios and such like that make the difference between a safe and unsafe installation. Think I remember most of the details posted by various.

Mr Beckstar and Grantus like this.
  4. drivesafe

drivesafe Active Member

Hi Rob, here is a reduced version of my post on gas ratios and safe battery locations.

Under NORMAL use, neither Wet Cell or AGM batteries gas, especially when being charged by an alternator. Furthermore, the voltages required to cause excessive gassing in either type of battery is higher than most alternators operate at.