1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Magazine article on VW Kombi in Australia

Discussion in 'Kombi Club' started by ltonk, Jun 30, 2015.

1. ltonk

ltonk Member

Hi everyone,
    My husband is a long time kombi lover and owner and has been a member of this forum for years. I'm a magazine journalist and am working on an article focusing on the history of the VW Kombi in Australia. My article will follow the kombi from it's arrival in OZ back in the '50's to the present day and I want to interweave personal stories from the people who know car best - the kombi owner and lover! In other words, you guys!

I'm on the hunt for some interesting stories. I'd love to interview a bunch of kombi enthusiasts and am looking for in particular:

-Anyone who owned or used as a work vehicle a Kombi back in the 1950's when they first arrived in Australia.
    -Anyone who has actually lived in their van for a substantial amount of time.
    -Anyone who has a really impressive kombi collection (my husband would say him but I know his collection is only the tip of the iceberg!)
    -Anyone who has inherited their love of the VW Kombi from their parents or family and have passed this love onto their own kids.
    -Anyone who has never driven anything but a Kombi!
    -Anyone who became a kombi lover back in the 1960's as a hippy!
    -Anyone who has a great history with this iconic car!

If you wouldn't mind a chat and sharing your thoughts and wisdom, please email me at odette@allthingsstainless.com.au and I'd love to organise a time to call or shoot through some questions for you to answer!

Thanks again for your time and it's a testament to forums like this that the humble kombi is as popular today as it ever was!

Kindest,
    Odette Tonkin

2. syncro

syncro Well-Known Member