1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Meet Doris. Although I think she is well known here!!

Discussion in 'New Members' started by Michael G, Jan 13, 2020.

1. Michael G

Michael G Member

Hi all.
    I'm Michael. I am a Aircraft Maintenance Engineer from
    Wagga Wagga NSW.
    My beautiful wife Sarah and I have owned Doris, our 77 ex Army 9 seat bus for just over a year. Turns out she is quite famous here haha. She used to be owned by Bernie aka Saabman.
    We bought her out of Surry Hills, Melbourne last January.
    I have 3 kids to a previous marriage , a Son and another on the way to my current wife.
    I have had several older cars in the past(mainly Renault 12s) . Had been out of them for a while while life got in the way...
    Recently life has settled down and I wanted to get back into having a old car to tinker with and enjoy.
    My wife and I have always pointed out Kombi's wherever we went and Sarah started collecting model Kombi's.
    So since I wanted an older car and we had 4 kids at the time a Kombi it was!!
    We looked at a couple. One in Cowra. Was a camper so wasn't really suited to us(not enough seats) and one in Batlow. It was nice but had rust in the foor and was missing the middle seat.
    Then we came across a 77 ex army 9 seater online. This one really appealed to me as my Dad was in the army and he remembered riding in the Kombi's.
    So we drove down to Melbourne, fell in love and bought her home.

Now at the time I knew very little about them.
    After doing some reading online and getting a workshop manual, also learning that one caught fire in Melbourne the very day I drove ours home, I thought I probably should have looked at a few things more closely before jumping in and driving it 450kms!
    Mind you she ran like a dream and never missed a beat.