1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Veggie Gardens

Discussion in 'Off Topic' started by prone, Jun 29, 2020.

1. prone

prone Well-Known Member

Hi all,

My 14yo daughter has taken an interest in growing her own veggies. This is something that I’ve always thought about doing but have never done so we are going to give it a go together.

We are complete newbies to growing veggies so to make it easier we have purchased a small sized Vegepod. We put the Vegepod together yesterday and are planning to get all of the other items that we need to start our veggie garden today.

Obviously we are going to need soil and seeds to get started but I was wondering if anyone had any tips? Also, are there any suggestions on what’s best to plant at this time of year?

Any help/advice would be much appreciated and if you have a veggie garden it’d be great to see some pics :)

Cheers 0CB5FFF2-DA2D-4DAE-BD93-9FBC8D29A8DC.jpeg

Elsie 76, oldman and KahunaKombi like this.
  2. cbus

cbus Well-Known Member

You will find modern potting mixes pretty unsatisfactory but mixes are necessary for containers as soil doesn't hold a good structure in those conditions.
    Buy best avail.
    Some composted leaf matter rich soil is a usefully additive.
    Large poly boxes are useful and free from the likes of IGA .
    Shallow pots will dry quickly and stress plants.
    Plants also need to balance roots and top growth.
    If you have access to an area of ground it will be worth building a raised bed and building a rich soil with organic matter.
    Search the net for composting , soil building, seasonal planting.
    Soil temperatures are relevant so plant in season.

White shade cloth is good for covers .

Probably a bit late now but decidous leaves, particularly Oaks, are good combined with manure for potting compost. Balance pH with dolomite.

Buy a cheap pH kit.